The Guilts

The Henry Chronicles muses on a classic sandwich family dilemma: guilt. Beautifully written, as always.

The Henry Chronicles

Tommy handprint and booties

Two weeks ago, a younger friend of mine called to ask my advice about achieving work-life balance. She has a three-year-old, is in the middle of a challenging pregnancy and is less than a year into a new leadership position. How did I do it, she asked.

I didn’t, I told her. I oscillated between roles rather than achieving balance. Like her, I was pregnant when I took a challenging new job — and I, too, had medical complications. My boss approved the normal six week maternity leave. When I came back to work, my infant daughter still cried much of the day and night. (The only thing that seemed to sooth her, during these colicky periods, was a bouncy swaying back and forth reminiscent of low impact aerobics, which I had continued during pregnancy.) I pumped breast milk sitting on the john in the bathroom. But my daughter soon…

View original post 874 more words

One response to “The Guilts”

  1. philanthrophile says :

    Thanks, Kay, for sharing this and for your nice words. What you share on Sandwich Family is powerful, and I know helpful to many.

Leave a Reply

